Catholic Education Commission

Our MissionCEC-Logo1

‘The Catholic Education Commission, as a ministry of the Church of the Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn is committed to authentic Catholic education centred in God’s love for each person, as revealed in Jesus Christ’

Our Purpose

The Archbishop is responsible for the oversight of all Catholic Schools within the Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn.

The Catholic Education Commission (CEC) was established to support and advise the Archbishop in his responsibilities for Catholic schools in the Archdiocese. The CEC advises and makes recommendation to the Archbishop but does not make decisions. The CEC is not an incorporated body.

Our Membership and Terms of Reference

The Archbishop of Canberra and Goulburn is the President of the CEC. All members are appointed by the Archbishop for a four year term with an option for a further four years by invitation of the Archbishop. The Archbishop appoints a Chair as an ex-officio member of the CEC. CEC members are drawn from key stakeholder groups in the Archdiocese including:

  • Clergy
  • Parents (NSW and ACT)
  • Principals (NSW/ACT and Primary/Secondary and Congregational)
  • Catholic Agencies
  • Australian Catholic University

The Director of Catholic Education is the Executive Officer of the CEC.
The Catholic Education Commission meets up to seven times per year.

How Recommendations are Determined

The CEC forms its recommendations to the Archbishop on a Consensus (Shared Wisdom) Model.

Consensus implies:

  • Co-responsibility, participation and collaboration
  • No one has all the wisdom
  • Everyone has a different piece of the wisdom
  • Everyone has some of the wisdom – with a responsibility to share the same.