Aboriginal Education in the Archdiocese

Catholic Education Canberra and Goulburn acknowledges the Traditional owners upon whose land our schools and office are located and honours their spiritual heritage.

The Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn encompasses six Aboriginal language groups: Wiradjuri, Walgalu, Gundungurra, Ngunnawal, Ngarigo and Yuin. This reflects the rich and diverse cultural heritage of our school communities. Catholic Education acknowledges and honours this spiritual heritage.

The Aboriginal Education Team supports schools to maximise opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students to engage and experience success in their learning. They foster authentic partnerships between home, community and school.

The team maintain networks of Contact Teachers for Aboriginal Education in our schools, who ensure the day to day support of our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students and their families. 

The team also support our school communities across the Archdiocese providing learning opportunities including:

  • Cultural competency
  • Culturally responsive pedagogies
  • Cross-curriculum priorities
  • Community, engagement and partnerships
  • Highlighting Aboriginal connections within the RE curriculum (K-12)
  • Cultural events and celebrations

We are proud of our connection to Country across each regional area in the Archdiocese and the relationships fostered with our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community groups.