NSW Curriculum

NSW Syllabus for the Australian Curriculum  

In NSW each syllabus has a set of aims, objectives and outcomes, organised as knowledge and understanding, skills, values and attitudes. Primary learning includes whole-class, group and individual activities designed to develop students as self-motivated learners. Students will learn through active participation in a variety of engaging experiences in the classroom which prepares them for lifelong learning.

Literacy and numeracy skills are important for communicating and understanding the world. These aspects of learning are critical to success across all key learning areas.

Kindergarten -Year 6 Curriculum

Learning in Kindergarten to Year 6 focuses on six key learning areas (KLAs):

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Human Society and Its Environment
  • Creative Arts
Years 7-10 curriculum

Students in Year 7 are introduced to the eight key learning areas that they will study until Year 10.

Year 7 to Year 10 focuses on eight key learning areas:

Within these key learning areas there are courses and elective subjects.