ACT Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum sets the expectations for what all Australian students should be taught, regardless of where they live or their background. For K-10 it means that students now have access to the same content, and their achievement can be judged against consistent national standards. Schools and teachers are responsible for the organisation of the learning and they will choose contexts for learning and plan learning in ways that best meet their students’ needs and interests.

The Australian Curriculum comprises nine learning areas, with some learning areas including more than one subject. Learning areas/subjects are organised by year level or in bands that span two or three years.

Learning Area Subject Year Levels
English English K-12
Mathematics Mathematics K-12
Science Science K-12
Humanities and Social Sciences History K-12
Humanities and Social Sciences Geography K-12
Humanities and Social Sciences Civics and Citizenship Yrs 3-12
Humanities and Social Sciences Economics and Business Yrs 5-12
Health and Physical Education Health and Physical Education K-10


Design and Technologies

& Digital Technologies

K-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-10
The Arts

Music, Visual Arts, Dance, Drama, Media Arts,


K-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-10



Chinese*, French*, Indonesian*, Italian*, Arabic, German, Korean, Modern Greek, Spanish*, Vietnamese


K-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-10


Work Studies# Work Studies Years 9-10


* Language available in selected CECG schools

# Implementation of Work Studies Years 9and 10 is optional